How The Valorant Ranking System Works

April 19, 2024

Unraveling the Secrets of Valorant's Ranking System

As you master your favorite Agents, a new challenge awaits – the chance to prove yourself as the best in the community. Engage in thrilling battles with like-minded individuals and ascend to the pinnacle of the regional leaderboards, claiming well-deserved bragging rights.

Before you dive headlong into the competitive arena, equip yourself with the knowledge of Valorant's intricate ranking system. In this article, we'll explore how the system operates, how ranks are advanced, and the role of Acts in determining your standing.

Valorant Rank System – A Deeper Look

While Valorant's ranking system may appear bewildering, especially to newcomers, it follows the principles of other multiplayer ranking systems. However, Riot Games has introduced some unique features that set it apart.

Unlike other games where you can hop into competitive mode impulsively, Valorant employs the Rank Ratings (RR) and Matchmaking Rankings (MMR) systems to ensure fair and balanced matches. Furthermore, the Leaderboards refrain from emphasizing playtime, focusing more on performance. This approach ensures that players with superior skills and achievements are recognized, regardless of the time invested.

Decoding Valorant Ranks in 2023

During the game's initial release, players needed to complete 20 unrated games to unlock competitive mode. However, to tackle issues with trolls and smurfs, the requirement was revised to ten unrated matches.

Before Episode 4, players were required to complete ten unrated matches to gain access to competitive mode. Riot Games adjusted the unlocking process to focus on match completions, promoting dedication and commitment to the game.

Upon completing ten unrated match wins, players were then tasked with five placement matches. These matches helped the game determine an appropriate starting rank based on performance, not just wins or losses. Valorant also took into account the player's previous ten unrated wins in this assessment.

After Episode 4 and beyond, players must reach account level 20 to access competitive/ranked mode games. However, those who played at least one ranked match before Episode 4 receive access to the same competitive games.

Valorant Ranks and Tiers

Valorant Ranks and Tiers

Valorant's ranking system consists of nine ranks or divisions, including Iron, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Ascendant, Immortal, and Radiant (previously called "Valorant"). The first eight ranks comprise three tiers each, while Radiant stands as the sole rank with one tier. In total, there are 25 ranks, excluding Unranked.

While most players start at the Iron rank, exceptional performance during placement matches can place them in higher ranks, such as Bronze 2. At the start of a new Episode, all players must play five placement matches to get ranked, with Ascendant 1 being the highest initial placement.

Advancing through the ranks and tiers in Competitive mode is attainable by demonstrating remarkable performance and consistency. Going on win streaks and securing MVP titles can accelerate your progress. Achieving a 100 Rank Rating (RR) per act, such as from Iron Rank 1 to Rank 2, marks your ascent.

For Episode Acts 2 and 3, players receive a minimum of 10 RR. Upon reaching Immortal 2 or higher, specific RR amounts are required for promotion, varying by regional settings. For North America (NA), promotions to Immortal 2, Immortal 3, and Radiant Rank demand 90 RR, 200 RR, and 450 RR, respectively.

No Rank Decay in Valorant

Unlike certain online multiplayer games, Valorant does not enforce a "ranking decay" mechanic. You can take breaks from playing without worrying about your rank deteriorating. However, if you spend an extended period away from the game, you may have to play a placement game to reinstate your rank. This helps Riot Games ensure that players are placed in matches appropriate to their skill level.

Exploring the MMR and RR Systems

Valorant RR Ranks

Your Match Making Rating (MMR) is a critical factor that determines your rank and match placement, but you cannot view it directly. It represents your rung on the metaphorical ladder, and each match you engage in influences your position. On the other hand, your Rank Rating (RR) reflects the points you gain after each competitive game. Advancing to the next tier requires accumulating 100 RR points, with point allocation varying based on wins, losses, and draws. Riot Games aims for "convergence" between your MMR and RR scores. This convergence signifies that your RR accurately reflects your performance level, and your MMR validates your rank placement. As you consistently prove your worth in matches, you'll experience this convergence, aligning your standing with your true skill.

Skill Over Grind

While the temptation to play numerous games in a "grind" approach may be alluring, Valorant's ranking system emphasizes quality over quantity. Wins are indeed crucial, but the manner in which you achieve them and your displayed skills are equally significant. To progress through the ranks, focus on showcasing your prowess and delivering exceptional performances.

The Journey to Triumph

Challenge Yourself and prove your Skills

Valorant's ranking system offers an exhilarating journey to triumph and recognition. As you climb the ranks with skill and determination, celebrates your achievements and adds an extra layer of excitement to your gaming experience. Embark on this thrilling odyssey, rise to the challenge, and stand among the elite in the competitive world of Valorant. Are you ready to ascend?

Related Articles

Unleash your skills